About Frances Shook

Hello!! I am Frances Shook and am a current Junior at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa. I am pursuing a career in the Magazine Industry, specifically by writing and creating content for a lifestyle magazine to contribute to a profitable environment. Coming to Drake, I had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do with my life, let alone major in. In the middle of my first semester, I decided to major in Magazine Media and Public Relations; However, I still wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with these majors. It wasn’t until a class I took my first semester of sophomore year, Magazine Staff Writing, that I discovered my love for lifestyle writing. I had always liked writing but never looked too far into that interest. At the end of this class, I finally learned what I wanted to do with my two majors.

Getting My Foot In The Door

I have been given three great opportunities to expand my work experience. This past July 2021 I studied at the Conde Nast College of Fashion and Design for their Vogue Summer Intensive Program. I heard from professionals in the fashion industry, learned what it takes to work in the industry, the jobs that exist in order for a magzine to come to life, and the importance of keeping up with the trends, whether that’s fashion or something like a new social media platform! Currently I am the Social Media and Marketing Director for Parkwest Fitness. This job has given me knowledge and insight into the social media world and how it has changed the way businesses communicate to the public. Summer of 2020, I was allowed to intern for Newpoint Marketing. By the end of the Summer, I had seven published blogs on the Newpoint Marketing Blog, focusing on successful marketing for businesses in the food industry. If you are interested in learning more about my experience, please reach out to me at fkshook@gmail.com.

Background

I was born and raised in West Lafayette, Indiana. I have two loving parents and an older sister and a twin brother. My family has always had pets and currently, we have two rescue dogs and a cat. Throughout my childhood, my family spent a lot of the time outside and staying active. We spent our summers in northern Michigan and Cape Cod and went west to go skiing every other spring break. This pushed my love for the outdoors into existence and whenever I am given the chance to be outside I take it. From the age of twelve, I went to a Summer camp, Ogichi Daa Kwe, for three weeks of the Summer and went on canoe trips in the Canadian wilderness. This experience pushed me mentally and physically, but some of my best moments were up in the middle of nowhere in the Canadian wilderness.

Growing up I was as far from as athletic as someone could be. My parents threw me into all the sports, soccer, volleyball, tennis, golf, etc, but I did not succeed at many; However, I played golf all throughout high school and loved it. The golf season only lasted about a month and a half. This left my afternoons for the rest of the school year free. With this free time, I spent time at the gym and learned my love for working out. I became certified in Barre and Tabata and taught Barre classes for two years. With working out, I fell in love with eating healthy. I did research and learned everything there was to know; However, I am human and believe that the best way to eat healthily is by doing it moderately and not restricting yourself.

Interests

At Drake, I am a member and the Vice President of Organization for Kappa Kappa Gamma and am the President of Bigs @ Drake. Outside of school, I love being outdoors, reading, going on walks with friends, trying new things (especially food), spending time up in northern Michigan with family, and I am a sucker for sunsets. I am extremely passionate about traveling and food. I absolutely love pasta and sushi and would eat them for every meal if I could. Immersing yourself in a different culture, trying different cuisines of food, and seeing all the beautiful different places in the world is something truly magical.